Love and hate in the garden


Cauliflower? Cabbage?

Cauliflower? Cabbage?

April is always a hectic month for me.  There just aren’t enough weekend hours to complete everything I need to complete in the studio and the garden.  Hence, why I am a few days late in posting my April garden update. Unlike last April, however, this year brings high temperatures (scorching actually) and with it high hopes of a bountiful summer.

Tulip

Tulip

Last weekend I finished planting everything but the okra and sweet potatoes which will go in in a few weeks.  While it was one weekend of work to finish it off, it marked the culmination of lots of planning and work that started back in the fall when I planted a cover crop mix – rye, hairy vetch and pea.  The cover crop did not die back like I had hoped because of our mild winter.  That meant lots of backbreaking work this spring.  Since March I have been cutting it down and trying to kill it so it doesn’t compete the vegetables, but nourishes them.  A few good weekly cuttings (on my knees with garden shears) has killed most of it and now the remainder is dying and decomposing – adding good stuff to the soil.  Of course the compost pile is happy with its new supply of cuttings.

To finish off the smothering of the cover crop, I laid down some newspaper and then covered it with planting mix.  The result is 14 raised beds now prepared for growing the plethora of vegetables I have planned.  At least I hope is a plethora. The weekly rain we have had has been helpful in getting things started.  As I was weeding the potato, leek and onion bed this weekend, I saw the potatoes were sprouting.

Potato Sprout

Potato Sprout

Oh what I joy in seeing those treasures coming up.  I think potatoes are by far the most fun things to grow and certainly to harvest.  A true treasure hunt.

Last weekend brought early scorching temperatures that brought concern about drought and the dread of daily waterings.  There were a few nights I found myself watering the limp seedlings I had planted just days earlier.  I am glad that the the weekly rain has returned (for now) and is making things grow, particularly the weeds.

Most people hate weeds.  I have found that I have developed a love for them.  Ok, love might be too strong of a word, but I do have a new appreciation for what they bring to my life, aside from sore hamstrings.  The other day as twilight was approaching, as I was stooped over pulling weeds and the remaining cover crop from the potato bed, I perceived a noticeable change in my mood.  Like most days, I was harried from a tough commute that followed a stressful, busy day at work.  But the harriedness just seemed to melt away as I pulled the weeds.  I felt relaxed and calm.  Wow.  As much as I love gardening, I never have enough time for it and so I am always trying to fit it in where I can – weeding, planting, harvesting, watering, etc. in the wee hours of the morning or as the sun is setting.   In all my years of meditation, I had never experienced so profound and perceptible a shift in my being.  Later I entered the house with muddy hands and a big smile, ready close out my day.

Tomatilios, peppers, leeks and tomatoes

Tomatilios, peppers, leeks and tomatoes

Shading the lettuce

Shading the lettuce

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love and hate in the garden

  1. Hi, nice post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for sharing. I will definitely be coming back to your posts.

Leave a Reply

