Celebrating Arts and Crafts


I cannot believe it has been seven months since I launched me and my pots on the web. It all started in November when we got a Mac.  I finally had a computer that would make creating a website easy.  I also thought it was time to get my pottery “out there”, if I was going to become serious about becoming a full-time potter.  I had my holiday project.  I bought a photo tent and some lights to shoot my work.  I began to figure out iPhoto and iWeb.  By the end of the holidays, I had launched a website, opened an Etsy shop, and threw in this WordPress blog for good measure.

Fast forward seven months.  Wow. I have revamped my website once.  I am finally getting the hang of Etsy, and beginning to get more regular sales, one a week for the last 3 weeks. (I am keeping my fingers crossed for this week).  I am less wowed by my blog, which suffers from neglect since I am never quite sure what to write about.

But the most shocking thing about my entrance into the online world is how I took to social media.  I really didn’t go into marketing my work with the thought of using Twitter or Facebook.  But now they are the most regular way I communicate with friends – new and old, and let people quickly know what I am doing with my work.  I am on both platforms almost every day, usually in the morning and evening.  I share thoughts and quotes, post newly listed items in my shop, and give kudos to others.

What have I gained from all of this some friends ask? Within about 4 months I have over 700 followers on Twitter and I am slowly growing my facebook fan page.  That is 700+ people who did not previously know of my work and that is just plain cool.  I also get to highlight the works of others, and sometimes, I even get my work highlighted.

I’ve had a blessed week with being highlighted in two blogs.First is the interview series being done by Erin on http:ceramicerin.blogspot.com. Erin is surveying potters and then posting the surveys.  My most interesting question was about my concern of the environmental impact of making pots.  This is a subject that I am increasingly interested in and I was glad to see others are thinking about it.

Then today one of my vases was highlighted in http://etsyitemoftheday.com, a blog by Jackie, highlighting a different Etsy item each day.  This vase was a bit of an experiment, one I haven’t repeated.  However, this is a pot that I think about a lot, particularly the tension between the classic neck design and the chunky, organic base. And that’s the great thing about these online communities – they make you think.

Thanks Erin and Jackie.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Celebrating Arts and Crafts

  1. You have such a wonderful Etsy shop! I am happy to share your Blue Monday vase with my blog’s readers. There is so much talent on Etsy.com and I was really excited to come across your shop!

    Best of luck to you and I’m happy the feature “made you think”! LOVE your work!

    Jackie
    http://etsyitemoftheday.com

  2. Erin says:

    It’s nice to hear you’re doing well online! I’ve been meeting a lot of new ceramic artists on Twitter as well. My problem is that I spend too much time online, not enough in the studio. Well I’m happy to feature you on my blog this week! Good luck with your Etsy sales. 🙂

Leave a Reply

