Inspiration and the Creative Process


The greatest inspiration for my pottery is nature. Specifically, my garden and the photography of Karl Blossfeldt.  But how does this inspiration manifest as a pot?

This is how my creative process often works.  After a morning in the garden, I am bombarded with ideas for new forms or how to improve current forms.  The ideas just come, and then of course I have to get to my wheel to figure out how to make these internal musings come to life in clay.  At more contemplative times, I sit in my favorite chair and browse through my Blossfeldt or other nature books and let the images seep in.  I always keep my sketch book close to record the visions that appear.

The creative process (whether mine or others) fascinates me.  So while I still have a few days before I get back to my wheel, I was wondering: what inspries you?  If you are an artist (or aspiring artist), where do you get your inspiration for creating a new piece? If not an artist, what makes you stop and take a breath or inspires your imagination to run wild? Let me know and maybe we can inspire each other.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inspiration and the Creative Process

  1. severnyproductions says:

    i take my inspiration from all aspects of life

  2. Angela says:

    I’m inspired by textures and structures present in both nature and architecture. Nature is wonderous, providing a wealth of simple and fantastical flora and fauna. I also like taking pictures of stone cottages, foot bridges, and sunsets / sunrises, which I keep on my computer to give me a creative boost.

  3. supermemere says:

    i follow you on twitter and LOVE your style..i too am a potter…i just got into it a few years back..so at this point im definitely still in the novice stages of things..but i love looking at your work and trying to see how you accomplished that shape, texture or color…the piece attached to this blog is freeking awesome and i really do love it..
    i love how your pieces look like nature, and yet remain very individualistic to your personal style
    just in case you we wondering what i was thinking!
    thanks for everything! and keep the awesome comming!

    amie

  4. claytastic says:

    Thanks Amie. I love hearing what people think about my work. Keep potting. My novice days are not all that far behind me.

Leave a Reply

