Visiting potters and my growing cup collection


I have been meaning to write more about my Vermont vacation and the potters I visited but time has gotten away from me.  Then Operation C.U.P. came along and inspired me to write not just about my vacation, but about the cups I acquired for my growing collection.

In late August, my husband and I headed to Vermont for a biking vacation.  As with any of our vacations, the car (or in this case bike) must stop for pottery. Lucky for our marital bliss, he usually goes riding while I travel the countryside visiting potters. This vacation was no different.  Driving up Route 7 through western Massachusetts and Vermont, we stopped at various potteries, including Bennington Pottery.  While I am not a fan of production pottery, the facility is impressive.  It was my first time seeing such a large car kiln.  It took my breath away.

One of the many things I loved about Vermont was that it seemed like many people I met understood and appreciated the benefits and joys of handmade pottery.  For instance, we stayed with a cycling couple our first night in Vermont.  Not only did she suggest I visit Robert Compton, but she had an impressive collection of salt and wood fired pottery in her kitchen.  And she knew the difference!  Very cool.

Pots

Then there was the collection of beautiful unmarked pottery in the general store in Charlotte, VT. I later found out the potter was Jules Polk. Unfortunately, I had no room on my bike to carry the tumbler I so wanted to buy.

Once the biking portion of our vacation was complete and I was freed of such weight and space constraints, I was off to visit Robert Compton and his gorgeous Noborigama kiln.  He was generous with his time, spending a couple hours with me talking about pots and the pottery business, and sharing his massive pottery collection with me over coffee. I left with a wood fired mug and a salt fired bowl.

The following day, as my husband and I headed home, we stopped at Rising Meadow Pottery, home of Nicolas Seidner and Diane Rosenmiller.  What wonderful pots they make.  I had a hard time choosing, but ended up bringing home one of Diane’s gorgeous green mugs.

My new mugs are right at home with their fellow hand made mugs and cups, a sample of which is pictured here:

DSCF1245

From left to right: Dale Marhanka, Marlisa Jeng, Jeff Oestrich (2) Robert Compton, Diane Rosenmiller

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

