Loading the Gas Kiln


My primary firing method has been with an electric kiln because that is what my schedule has permitted. I have good results with the electric kiln and have recently been experimenting with spraying which has opened a myriad of possibilities.  But as I wrote recently, I am being lulled back to high-fire and reduction.

Today, with the help of Lorraine Oerth and Joan Ulrich, I loaded the gas kiln at the Art League.  Joan and I loaded the back in the morning, and then Lorraine and I completed loading this afternoon.  It took about 2 hours total.

Before leaving we lit the pilots and made sure they stayed on.  I am currently baking my chocolate zucchini bread to nourish us during the day.  I will rise at 4:30 a.m. tomorrow to get an early start as we are cranking the gas at 5:30 and should be done in 12 to 13 hours.   This will be the first time I have fired this kiln and I am excited.  Hope I can sleep.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loading the Gas Kiln

  1. Pingback: Loading the Gas Kiln « Claytastic, pottery by Laurie Erdman | Beauty of Ceramics

Leave a Reply

