Oh yeah, this is why I do this.


On Monday, I was really feeling the post firing flu.  Headache, sore, sour stomach, all likely inspired by the lack of sleep and food over the weekend.  I was definitely questioning why I do anything other than electric firings.  But I was – not surprisingly – reminded today.  As Blair Meerfeld says being a potter is having little Christmases everyday.  Whether throwing a pot or opening a kiln, we get a present.

Today was the long awaited kiln opening.  For those who have been following my trials and tribulations, you know that today was a long day coming, with lots of mis-communications and breaking kilns along the way.

Traffic was awful with everyone traveling for the holidays.  But the crew gathered about 9:30 to unload and clean the kiln.  We were all happy with the results.  In particular, the oribe dancing ewer pictured here is my favorite pot of the firing, followed by a naked basket form.  In all, there were very few pots that I was unhappy with and only one pot that cracked.  More pics can be seen on facebook.

Despite the difficulties in scheduling this firing, I am thrilled with the results and  am already planning my return to Baltimore.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment