Inspiration Monday: November 30, 2009


This post Thanksgiving Monday calls for another trip to nature. This time, we are in Arizona with Etsy photographer Charles Smith.

The first thing I notice in this photo are the great curving and undulating lines and how they intersect. I also like the horizontal lines which remind me of throwing lines on a pot. While there is a softness to the lines, the mix of horizontal and vertical lines creates a visual tension. I am also drawn to the amazing color. It reminds me of bauer’s slip. I am also intrigued by the contrast of the hardness of the canyon walls with the soft sandy bottom – it is again a visual tension. How how can that soft sand support those towering walls? And what about the peek of light from above. Shedding light on this precious spot. I can only begin to imagine how these various tensions and colors and surprises may make their way into my work.

 

This image is protected by copyright, and I post it here with the permission of Charles Smith.

Have an inspiring Monday.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Artistic Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

