Journey with My Passion – Part 4: My Worlds Collide


It has been a while since I wrote about my life shift from full-time corporate type to gentler artistic type.  Wednesday’s event moved me to chime in again on how this journey is progressing.

It has been three and a half months since I took the leap to pursue my pottery calling. In addition to the firing roller coaster, it has been a bit of a physical and emotional rollercoaster.  I have had lots of moments of self-doubt.  I have had many moments of wanting to throw caution to the wind and untether myself from the safety of a day job. I have experienced some odd physical ailments with no evident cause, likely rooted in this massive shift in my life.  And I have had dark moments where I feel that I am living two lives – one corporate, one potter. It is these latter moments that have proved the most difficult.  I would feel confused every time I walked into work or into the studio.  Where was I?  Was I supposed to be here?  Now that I am here, what am I supposed to be doing?  Very disconcerting. But then the worlds that were seeming so separate and at times contrary to each other collided.

This week we had a small holiday art show and sale at work.  We organized it in support of our company’s selected charity – a pediatric cancer research group and to showcase the outside talents of our colleagues.  This was the first time that many of my co-workers were seeing my work.  They had only heard about it, checked out my website or seen the few pieces I have in my office.  The reactions were great.  People loved my pots.  They bought lots of pots. I felt like Sally Fields.

Photo courtesy of Helene Sheeran

I left work that day feeling peaceful and surprised.  The two worlds had quietly converged, even if just for a few hours.  It wasn’t cataclysmic.  In fact, they fit pretty well together.  I left work with the suspicion that there is a lesson in this.  That maybe the worlds don’t have to be so separate and they can co-exist nicely. I can continue to make pots and grow as a potter while contributing to a company with a great mission (and paying the mortgage).  Left and right brain can work equally and harmoniously.  Yes, I like this answer. It is where I am now and in one day, I learned to be content with that place.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Artistic Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

