New Form Feedback – the basket



One of my favorite forms is a basket.  It isn’t often used in ceramics, but when it is, I am really drawn to it.  So when I needed a break from producing for the holiday shows, I began working my own basket.

The one shown here is made of porcelain and fired in a wood-kiln with only a glaze inside. The flame and ash did the final decorating.

I really like this form.  I love the shape, the color, the sense of movement, etc.  But one thing I can’t get comfortable with is whether the  handle is big enough, i.e., there is enough negative space to counter-balance the base.

You can be sure I will be making more of these, but I would like to know your thoughts on the handle and anything else that you works for you or doesn’t work for you.

Thanks.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Form Feedback – the basket

  1. Nathan Clark says:

    i don’t know if i would call it a basket, but i like it. the movement is really nice. this form would look good lots of glazes. i see those deep lines in it and immediately think tenmoku or any other glaze that will break. really nice form though.

    • Michael says:

      I know what you mean by basket but I would rather call this a vase. Although I have seen willow baskets that have narrow necks like this form has, when I think basket I usually think of a shape that more open. I know, this is so arbitrary, my perception, that is. I am thinking of an oribe-style basket, I guess.

      The handle is nice. I guess it all depends on what will be going into the basket. tulips (flowers), bare branches like forsuthia, or what? Will the handle ultimately be prominent when the basket is containing something? I wonder if the handle and the feet relate enough.

  2. Melody Lamb says:

    I absolutely love it! Very sensual and in my opinion, the handle is in perfect balance with the weight of the body!
    Well done.
    ~Melody Lea Lamb

  3. StoneTosser says:

    Hmmmm. I like it. It’s very organic and feminine. The handle looks to me like arms so I guess I would suggest that you experiment with “arms on a body” proportions. You’re close, but maybe could be even a bit larger/bigger. Also experiment with the same proportions but “open arms” and “stretching up arms” etc.

    Am I making any sense or just amusing myself?

    🙂

    Nice work!

  4. Wallflowerpots says:

    I like it. I too think it has a sensual, feminine feel to it. I think it is balanced but seems a bit heavy if that makes any sense. It might need more delicate feet to lighten it a bit. I don’t think the handle needs to be thinner, I like the weight of it and the proportion, might be just the feet. I sure like the curve to it though. Great work!

  5. I like it very much the way it is and agree the form is lovely and shows a lot of movement.
    Experiment with different handles and see which one you like better.

  6. Carie Good says:

    I find it sensuous and alive. Nice warm tones and finish. I think I agree with Wallflowerpots though.. the feet seem to lift it out of balance. The short legs aren’t in keeping with the long winding torso, actually seem to be in competition with the rest of the piece, and bring to mind an awkward animal. The basket would be even more beautiful simply without them, IMHO.

  7. Jacqueline Thompson says:

    Hi Laurie,

    I really like this form. I love the surface glaze resulting from the wood firing. As far as the proportion is concerned, what if you experimented with making the feet shorter or thinner? You could also work with the negative space in the handle by cutting the handle in half at the midpoint and have each part of the handle meet in the middle with the ends in a subtle bent curve. That would suggest flowing arms above the body.
    The form is so full bodied and feminine and having handles resembling arms could add dimension to the piece.

    Jacqueline

  8. claytastic says:

    I want to thank everyone for their thoughtful comments. You are such awesome people. I can’t wait to get back to the studio to further refine this form with some of these suggestions.

  9. claytastic says:

    I want to thank everyone for their insightful and thoughtful comments. I am back on the studio and thinking a lot about your suggestions as I continue to work with this basket/handled vase form.

Leave a Reply

