Inspiration Monday – January 4, 2010


Warning: this post is a bit woo-woo, but it still relates to pottery.

Inspiration is a multi-faceted beast.  This first Monday of the New Year I would like to take a slight detour from my usual visual inspiration sources and discuss my spiritual inspiration. Why? Because even though I am not religious, I am a very spiritual person and the studio is my place of worship, the wheel my altar.  In the studio, my mind, body and soul come together to create works of art reflective of my spirit that I hope bring joy to others.

While taking the Christmas/New Year holiday period to reflect on 2009 and prepare for 2010, I found I needed some spiritual inspiration.  I’m always one for a new book, but this time I found myself returning to some gurus I had tripped across years ago.

The first was Marianne Williamson, the inspirational lecturer, teacher and author.   She is the author of these thought provoking and inspirational nuggets:

In normal life, the world doesn’t ‘make’ you happy OR sad. You choose the basic emotional tenor of your life and your world reflects it.

Your life is a screen and your mind is the projector. You’re the writer, director and star. If you don’t like your life, redo the script.

I find comfort in her message, particularly her message of love.  I know that  2010 will be full of challenges and that I will need something to guide me through the tough times.  I believe I was compelled to search out Marianne’s words because love is the answer to any problem I may face.

I also find spiritual inspiration in Byron Katie, a woman who has met every curve ball life has thrown her with grace and she still finds the strength to help others overcome their pain.  I have been hearing her in my head a lot lately, asking me “is that really true?” when I complain about how I can’t do something or other. It’s been a few years since I read her book Loving What Is, but I believe her words have came back from my past to keep me true to myself and keep me on the right path.

What is that path?  I don’t know the whole picture.  Yet I know that it includes making great pottery. And it includes writing about pottery.  I know it means listening more closely to my body and taking care of my physical, emotional and spiritual self.

I believe I reached out to these ladies this week to help me not lose focus on those key truths.  They inspire me to keep making, to keep writing, to keep creating the world I picture in my mind.  I am grateful for their presence and their grace.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Artistic Inspiration, Pottery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inspiration Monday – January 4, 2010

  1. Thanks for sharing this Laurie! I’m going to search for these ladies’ writings. My great source of inspiration continues to be Clarissa Pinkola-Estés, Women Who Run With the Wolves. I’ve read that book countless times and every time I pick it up I get a new meaning to her words. Another extremely helpful author, particularly in the area of physical health, has been Christiane Northrup’s Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom, which inspired me to take more control of my health and well-being and seek out doctors who saw me as more than an illness to throw a pill at.
    Blessings! ~~ Grace

  2. I love the way that you describe the studio being a place of worship. It is the same for me too, I suspect many artists feel that way too. I loose track of time, my mind becomes quite, I am connected to the creative force where ideas and knowing come to me effortlessly.

    “Loving what is” reminds me that I always want to accept reality and to see the glass as 1/2 full.

    I am so grateful for the spiritual teachers in my life, they are everywhere. Thank you for sharing your journey.

    Suzanne

  3. Lovely post, thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

