Inspiration Monday – January 11, 2010


The vast majority of my work is functional.  In part that is because I am a very practical person – if I can’t use it why bother? (No, I will likely never become a sculptor).

I am also an avid cook. So when I’m in the studio, I often make with food in mind. Drinking, eating and serving. (If I was a knitter, I guess I would be making yarn bowls, but alas, that is not a talent). When at my wheel, I visualize how the food will work and look with each form.

When throwing a serving bowl, I think about what people will serve from it – mashed potatoes, peas, a pasta salad?  What can I make to best show off my Italian fried chicken? Do I leave a large rim for garnishes?  Will this be used for everyday, or special occasions?

The decisions are not just about function, but even more importantly, about celebrating the food and those who grew and prepared it.  A lot of people put a lot of work into growing those vegetables or raising that lamb in a humane way.  There is no reason the final dish should not be served on a dish that celebrates that hard work.  So the artistic flair and color choice are also factors.  I choose colors that will compliment food, not detract.  I choose shapes that are strong, but don’t distract. So when the work comes out of the kiln, it is time for Bon Appetite!  

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Artistic Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiration Monday – January 11, 2010

  1. Pingback: Inspiration Monday – January 11, 2010 « Claytastic, fine art … | Beauty of Ceramics

  2. Mystic Silks says:

    I love how your creative muse speaks through you via your lovely pottery. And whilst creating it you focus on how its purpose will be utilized.

    Just lovely!

    Klaire

    You should write for a Home Decor magazine–:)

Leave a Reply

