Pottery as a spiritual practice


I grew up with no religious practice and a healthy does of skepticism about religion.  Too much harm in the name of god for me.

But the absence of religion didn’t mean that I was void of spirituality.  Being an outdoorsy type, hiking and biking, I I lived a spiritual life with the mountains and forest as my sanctuary.  The only dogma I followed – the Golden Rule.  In many ways I still feel that way, I just don’t do as much hiking as I used to.   This practice served me well for many years.

Eight years ago I learned of a religion that mirrored my spiritual beliefs – Unitarian Universalism.  I began going to church every Sunday – a shock to me and my friends.  But I was drawn to the community of the place, and the assembling of like minded people all pursuing their own spiritual journeys.  It was a great place to deepen my own journey.  I began to meditate. I studied paganism, buddhism, hinduism, taoism, christianity, judaism, and islam and further defined my own spiritual beliefs.

Just after finding the UU church, I began taking pottery classes.  For many years, the two were separate endeavors.  But as clay took a firmer hold in my life, the two presented a scheduling conflict, and church was losing out.  Last year, when I dove deep into clay, I stopped going to church with any regularity.  But as before, I found I didn’t need a church building to build a spiritual practice.

I spend 3-4 days in the studio each week and I find myself as spiritually involved as ever. It seems my original nature-based spiritual beliefs had just taken a more micro turn to focus  on one of earth’s most plentiful resources – clay.  I joke to my ministers and church friends that I am still going to church, its just that my sanctuary is the studio.  But it isn’t a joke.  I am learning fundamental spiritual lessons in the studio that no amount of worship, study or meditation ever taught me.

What lessons you ask?  Oh, come on, I can’t give it all away in one post.  And they are too numerous to do justice here.   I will be exploring and sharing these spiritual lessons of pottery as an occassional installment to this blog.  Check back regularly or subscribe so you don’t miss a word.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery as Spiritual Practice and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pottery as a spiritual practice

  1. Linda Ellett says:

    Lovely post – I’m right there with you, although I was brought up Catholic until I exited that scene when I was 14. But the observation of the beauty of nature and the translation of it into art (ceramic for me) is as much – and usually more – a spiritual practice as any organized religion could ever offer!
    Thanks for your thoughtful post!

  2. Pingback: Pottery as a spiritual practice « Claytastic, fine art pottery by … | Beauty of Ceramics

  3. Kathi/EE says:

    Looking forward to hearing more!

  4. I think a lot of potters will share the same feeling … All I have to do is enter the studio and just the smell fills me with a sense of calm and that all’s well with the world. Looking forward to future instalments!

Leave a Reply

