Cherry Blossoms Anyone?


Working out of a group studio has many advantages but presents some logistical challenges.  One of the biggest challenges is that the kilns are big, which means it takes a lot of work to fill them.  When I am doing electric firing, this is not an issue because we have a small “associate” kiln or I can sneak my work in with the student firings.  But gas and wood are a different matter.

Since the post-holiday season of 2009, I have been in constant production mode.  This means making and finishing work three days a week, when not working my day job.  All of this is in preparation for firing our gas kiln in February, and then firing two slots worth of work in Baltimore Clayworks’s wood kiln in March.  Oh, as I write that last sentence, I feel my anxiety and excitement rise.  That’s about 80 to 90 pieces that need to be bisqued and glazed in the  next six weeks.  Yicks.

Why the push to get so much work fired so early in the year?  First, I am hoping to do some local craft fairs this year.  Second, I am finally going to do a home sale.  I was going to do this last December, but smartly canceled.  Just too much going on last December.  But I really like the idea of hosting a sale in my home, or more specifically in my backyard.

I have decided to host my first home sale in April.  That is just before the craft fair season gets going so my friends and buyers get first pick of the season.  It will also be right in time for Mother’s Day and the wedding season.  And most importantly, if Mother Nature cooperates, our cherry tree will be in full bloom, making our backyard a magical pink show room.  If you would like details, and are not sure if you are on my mailing list, please contact me through my website www.claytastic.net and I will add you to the invitation.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cherry Blossoms Anyone?

  1. Heidi says:

    That sounds lovely! Let me know when it is and I’ll post a link for all my FB friends that live that way. Cherry blossoms are so beautiful! Are you going to make postcards to mail out?

  2. Looks beautiful, I’d love to come by:)

  3. Grace Lynt says:

    I’ll be there with bell’s on! Ditto what Heidi said! You should also advertise it on the Clay Connection’s FB page… BTW, the next issue of the Clay Connection’s newsletter comes out in late March, so make sure to send me all the details to include them in the newsletter.

  4. Lucky lady! You have one in your back yard?! That must be amazing! I think your home sale sounds great!
    You have the perfect setting~
    Love your work, & Love your inspiring blog!
    Thanks for the posts,
    Cheers, Chrissy 🙂

Leave a Reply

