Inspiration Monday – February 15, 2010


Inspiration Monday is taking a bit of a holiday today in celebration of President’s day, and to get ready for my trip to Austin Peay State University tomorrow.  Ken Shipley and APSU have been kind enough to open Ruthanne Tudball‘s workshop to the public.

Below is an example of Ruthanne’s work.  I wasn’t aware of her work until about a year ago when I went to Italy and fell in love with soda-firing.  The more I learned of her work and her style, the more I was determined to go to her next workshop.  Like me, it sounds as if Ruthanne enjoys spending her time on the wheel.

“All of my work is thrown, manipulated, altered and assembled while freshly thrown on the wheel. . . .  Since the way I work calls for pots to be completed as they are made, I tend to make pots in small series or families rather than as a larger production process.”

I was determined to see how she works.  Then one day, I saw a comment posted to a facebook update for a potter I follow.  It said Ruthanne was giving a free workshop at APSU.  Too good to be true?  It seems not.  Tomorrow I head to Tennessee to spend 3 days with Ruthanne, Ken Shipley, the students in the APSU ceramics program and a few other Ruthanne fans watching how she makes her amazing pots.

I can’t even imagine the doors this workshop will open for my own work.  Anyway I can find to spend more time on the wheel is a good thing.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Artistic Inspiration, Pottery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiration Monday – February 15, 2010

  1. judi tavill says:

    So exciting!!!! I would love to experience this!!!!
    Have a fabulous time!

Leave a Reply

