Daydreaming of soda kilns and sheep


For almost a year now, I have been wanting a soda kiln.  Real bad.  I love what soda does to pots – whether lightly sprayed or thrown into the kiln. I love it all.

Since November, I have been contemplating getting an old electric kiln body and converting it into a soda kiln.  I know I would only get 20 or so firings out of it before the soda completely destroyed the soft brick.  But what a learning experience.  With so much going on in my life lately, I had kinda given up on the idea.  Then last week, I got a lead on a kiln.  The planning is beginning.

Now its just a question of where to put it.  We co-own some property 90 miles west of D.C. that we fondly refer to as the farm. It would be a perfect location. So long as our co-owners agree.

It was our farm weekend last weekend, so I was scoping out locations.  We have a garage/shed near the entrance that seems just perfect.  And there is a cement pad all ready, as well as a horse shoe pit to the right.

Soda kiln site?

We don’t use this building often, so I decided to check out the inside to see if there was safe storage space for the propane and the kiln furniture.  Oh yeah.  And room for lots of pots.

To the left

Of course this got my imagination going wild about how great this space would be for a studio and how I could just move out here and pot all day.

In between all this day dreaming, I got to take in the views.  When I went out to run some errands in the afternoon, I was happy to see Chuck’s sheep in our neighboring pasture.  Perfect inspiration for a nap or two.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Firing Pots and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daydreaming of soda kilns and sheep

  1. Ken Shipley says:

    Laurie, Ruthanne said the soda just crusts her soft bricks and occasionally she ‘flakes’ them off.
    Sounds like her kiln lasts quite a while.
    Ken Shipley

    • claytastic says:

      Ken, Thanks for the tip. I will have lots to learn if this all comes about. I’m quite excited about this venture. I have a local student who will help me get it set up – he has done this with a couple of kilns. We will also create a fire box under the floor to add wood at the end. The possibilities get me all giddy.

  2. Jud Tavill says:

    It’s very exciting!
    I am happy for you…
    and a bit jealous!

Leave a Reply

