Ouch!


Several years ago during a workshop with Leah Leitson, I saw the tool I must have.  It was a short bladed knife.  Perfect for making controlled cuts.  And the handle was curved for comfort.  I ordered it, but it never showed up.  The maker – Dolan – had gone out of business.

I have yearned for this knife for years.  I have used an exacto, but it just wasn’t the same.  Then I went to NCECA this year.  Dolan is back.  Yeah.  I got my knife a few other tools.

I got to give my new knife a test run this weekend.  I usually cut small items in my hand for control.  I’ve never had a problem with that, until now.  I have a nasty slice on my finger to prove that my Dolan is the sharpest knife in my tool cut.  This didn’t stop me from throwing or assembling, but the band-aid was annoying.

I’m not fretting.  I love the knife.  But need to be more careful.

So what was I making?  I have been thinking about making serving trays for a while, but Nick’s workshop gave me the push to finally do so.  I made 3 small-medium sized trays.  I liked the idea of bisecting them, although realized last night there is a better way to do it so they don’t look like I laid them over a dowel (like I did).  That will be experiment two.

Nonetheless, I am still happy with the initial results.  In particular, I included the touch which I learned from Nick of adding texture suggestive of my normal texture to the bottom of the pot.  I think this is such a nice touch Nick adds to his pots, and shows that he is thinking about every last detail. I love that.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Making Pots and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

