Disrupting the Flow


There is nothing like a vacation to disrupt the flow of the making process. While the pots haven’t been multiplying in the last week, I always find that time away from the studio is time where ideas creep in and simmer.  Who knows where they will reappear.

Last week I traveled to Portland, Oregon to hang out with a dear friend whom I hadn’t seen in many years.  We went to Powell’s Books (twice).  Under the supervision of Mount Hood and Mount St. Helens, we picked strawberries on Suavie Island.  We walked on the beach and browsed the galleries in Cannon Beach.  We ate lots of good food and I even sipped a bit of wine.  On Sunday morning, we saw my husband off, as he departed on an 11 day cycling trip that will end in Jackson, Wyoming.  A wonderful trip.

It's hard work picking strawberries

Mount Hood oversees the field work.

A stroll on Cannon Beach with the Haystack in the background

I return to the studio tomorrow to check on some bowls (I hope they are not too dry to trim) and to concentrate on my own work.  This will begin the last big push for my September wood-firing.

Stay centered.

Laurie

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Making Pots, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disrupting the Flow

  1. Michael says:

    I’m just getting back to work in the clay after two months of selling, construction projects, and several mini vacations. It’s not easy to get into the swing of things, but I’m patient and confident that it will flow with time!

    You are so right about the ideas creeping in and simmering. I really think that travel can be such a charmed and inspiring existence. The eyes are wide open and unencumbered! Not to mention the other senses!

    • My brief visit to the studio last night had me fumbling and bumbling big time. I’m hoping for better results tomorrow. But a bit flummoxed about what to make. I guess mugs are always a good place to start.

      I definitely agree that travel, even if not far is so important to the creative process. It keeps us from getting into ruts (or at least it does for me).

Leave a Reply

