Wood-fired Wednesday – #20 A Sleep Walking Encounter with a Real Life Pot


In the middle of the night while firing the kiln at Baltimore Clay Works last weekend, I had a very odd moment.  One of those where you really have to check yourself.

I had gone to take a nap on one of the comfy cots the studio supplies.  I was happily snoozing while others stocked the kiln and we slowly climbed toward cone 11. I was awoken an hour before my allotted wake up time by a hovering helicopter. I tried to go back to sleep, but no luck.  It turns out that some of the Clay Works residents are late owls.  Their voices carried their the building.  After 10 minutes of struggling to return to sleep, I gave up and went to see what was going on.

I stumbled upstairs to visit Clay Works resident artist Tim Sherman.  On his table was a jug that looked an awful lot like the jug to the left.  That seemed odd.  I knew it wasn’t Tim’s work, but it looked an awful lot like a pot I had highlighted on wood-fired Wednesday weeks before. But that seemed too coincidental.

After a few more minutes of contemplation, and rubbing the sleep out of my eyes, I confirmed with Tim that the pot was indeed Andrew Snyder’s pot, and very likely the same one I had posted.  It turns out the pot is made from clay mixed by Andy (did Tim say native clay?) and fired with apple wood.  I can also share that this pot absolutely rocks in real life.  The simplicity, the ash, the roughness, the evidence of flame all work together to make one beautiful pot.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Wood-fired Pottery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wood-fired Wednesday – #20 A Sleep Walking Encounter with a Real Life Pot

  1. highonfire says:

    I absolutely love this piece!!! Best jug I have ever seen!! I was born in pennsylvania, and this piece makes me want to go back and visit Andrew Snyder’s studio!!!

  2. Debbie Wiliamson says:

    Met Andrew at Strictly Functional on Friday evening — what a delightful guy! LOVE his work. Thanks Laurie.

Leave a Reply

