Paying it Forward – Pottery Give Away


Last month I was selected as the winner of a Connie Norman I’m So Lucky bowl.  Connie is a pottery rock star.  She makes great pots and has been featured in and on the cover of Ceramics Monthly.  The bowl I received, which was just beautiful; it has the words – “I’m so lucky” stamped over a portion of the surface.  And boy did I feel lucky when I won.  I don’t usually win such things.

Feeling very grateful for receiving this bowl, I decided to pay Connie’s generosity forward.  I am holding my very own give away.  The lucky winner will receive this wood-fired vessel. The interior and rim are glazed in a green oribe glaze.  This piece can serve as a flower pot/centerpiece/fruit bowl, or a place to hold your keys, or a lot of candy (perfect for Halloween).

How can you win?

Comment on this blog post about “why you like using handmade pottery.”

Also . . . .

Based on Connie’s experience of having a tough time choosing the winner, I am also going to introduce a bit of chance to the selection process.  I will take the name of the best commenters and place them in the vessel. I will then draw a name to select the winner.

To increase your odds of winning, I will put the finalist’s name in the pot once for their comment and once more time for each of the following they may do:

  1. Subscribe to my blog (click on the link to the left of this post).
  2. Become a fan of my facebook page
  3. Sign up for my newsletter

For example, if your comment makes it into the final, and you subscribe to my blog, sign up for my newsletter and become a facebook fan, I will enter your name in the pot four times.  I will then draw a name and send the winner the pot.

I will draw names October 15.  Be sure to leave your email so I can contact you if you win. Winners will be announced on October 18.

Thank you for reading and the best of luck.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Paying it Forward – Pottery Give Away

  1. Kelle White says:

    Hi, Laurie! This is great! I have to admit that I have very little handmade pottery in my house. But pottery reminds me of my mom. When I was about 10 or so, I remember my mom winning a raffle for a beautiful pottery bowl from a local artist at our Octoberfest. This was a rough time in my mom’s life, as she and my dad were newly divorced and she was struggling with being a single mom, working for the first time in a decade trying to make ends meet. There was no money left over for “niceties”. I can just remember how PROUD my mom was of this artpiece. It was (is, actually) a green and brown bowl which always has reminded me of a swan for some reason. I think that bowl healed my mom’s soul in some way. It was kept right on the coffee table in the living room for years, and still shares a prominent spot in her home now.

  2. nigel says:

    Locally made hand thrown pottery is superb. By supporting our local artists we help to build a community and keep our $ at home. Plus we can find magnificent work – at great prices! Go Green! http://blog.sidestreetstudio.com/pottery/6-good-reasons-to-own-locally-made-pottery-3/

  3. Have followed your blog and been a fan on facebook for some time now… I am a potter, always enjoying exploring the new and different ways clay can be used in a home. I am an officer in an Art League that promotes all facets of the art world and works to ensure that children are exposed to art at a very early age. I would give a piece of your work an honored place in my home! Best wishes to all.

  4. Susan Myers says:

    WOW~HAVE BEEN AN INSPIRED FAN OF YOURS FOR A WHILE~I WAS SMITTEN BY YOUR POTTERY FROM THE BEGINNING AND AM IMPRESSED WITH YOUR ORGANIC STYLE OF POTTERY~ I HAVE BEEN A POTTER FOR THE PAST 6 YEARS AND HONESTLY HAVE TO SAY I DONT HAVE MUCH OF MY OWN STUFF BECAUSE I GIVE IT AWAY, OR PEOPLE ASK ME FOR IT~BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN A HOMEMADE CRAFTER AT HEART, IT WAS EASY FOR ME TO BE BITTEN BY THE “MUD BUG”. HOWEVER, THE HANDMADE PIECES OF POTTERY THAT BRING ME THE GREATEST JOY TO USE AND ENJOY ARE THE ONES MY THREE GIRLS MADE FOR ME . MY OLDEST DAUGHTER, LINDSEY, (NOW 25) MADE A CLAY PROJECT AT SCHOOL IN 6TH GRADE OF VEGETABLES, MY MIDDLE DAUGHTER, HANNAH, (NOW 22) MADE ME A CLAY FLOWER POT IN 4TH GRADE WITH A FLOWER AND PHOTO OF HER SELF, AND MY YOUNGEST DAUGHERT, LYDIA (NOW 21) MADE ME A CLAY POTPOURRI HOLDER IN 3RD GRADE THAT LOOKS LIKE AN APPLE PIE WITH A BRAIDED CRUST…NO DOLLAR AMOUNT COULD EVER BE PLACED ON THESE MEMORIES AND KEEPSAKES PIECES BECAUSE EACH TELLS THEIR OWN STORY. I CAN REMEMBER THE TIME, PLACE AND EMOTION I HAD WHEN I RECEIVED THESE GIFTS SO FOR ME TO SHARE MY PIECES JUST CONTINUES THIS LEGACY. THIS IS WHY I LIKE HAVING, MAKING AND USING HANDMADE POTTERY.

  5. Trudy Fuller says:

    Hello Laurie,
    Handmade pottery always has a story for me. The people who create it put something of themselves into it and how I come to acquire it has a story. My first set of dishes were made on the Oregon coast by Jim Gore and are now 35 years old.
    There is just something SPECIAL about handmade or homegrown.
    Thank you for allowing us all to have a chance(s) to have something you created in one of our homes.
    Trudy in Oregon

  6. I have a centerpiece of handmade pottery on the coffee table. It is a large deep plate, with a spiral pattern in the center. This piece reminds me of my true nature: earthy, always on the journey to my center, colourful and unique.

  7. Debbie Wiliamson says:

    Love the luck-pot, Laurie! What a beautiful wood-fired piece. Thank you for paying it forward; for sharing your handmade pottery.
    We started using handmade pottery gradually. First a mug then a pitcher; a tumbler — in time a bowl and then plate or two (three-four!) Now, our cupboards are full of handmade pottery (‘special’ pots, our pots, other potter’s pots). What a collection! It allows for ‘favorites’. My favorite ice cream bowl. His favorite coffee mug. My rainy-day cup. The yellow bowl. The bright plate. It’s contagious. Our kids claim their mugs when they come over; the grand kids want to make their own bowls (now they’re some special pots!) Most handmade pots come with a story; some join a story; many are part of a story in the making. As I write you, my fingers are wrapped around a comfortable handle attached to a handsome mug filled with delicious hot coffee; the rim of this wood-fired pot is smooth despite the ash-laden surface of the body. It’s a delight to start my day admiring and using this handmade pot. And when someone joins me this afternoon or tomorrow for a cup of tea, I’ll delight in their choice of teabowl or mug (often my friends will stare at the shelf and pick up one or two and then put them back before settling into just the right one for today’s tea). What a joy!

  8. m says:

    handmade pottery is more beautiful

Leave a Reply

