Focusing on My Spirit – Views from Inside and Out


I have been thinking a lot about my spirit lately.  It might be because I have not had my hands in clay for a few months.  Following my big fall wood-firing, I have been taking some time off from the studio.  I have been simply sitting with my finished pots; absorbing the lessons they have to provide.

I have also been editing an article for a much loved pottery journal (keeping fingers crossed it is up to snuff).  That article is the culmination of much of my current thinking about how pottery has become my spiritual practice and how it sustains me, even as I sit at my office desk.   Given the personal essay nature of the article, I have mostly looked inside for content.

In contrast, this morning I awoke to see an outsider’s view of how clay and my spirit intertwine to make art.  Even though many of my own words are in this post on Venice Clay Artists, it is always interesting to see yourself from someone else’s vantage point.  Thanks to Robert for featuring me on his blog

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery as Spiritual Practice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

