A Study in Handles – the Aftermath


Perky Loop - Wood-fired

Back in August, I posted about a new form I was making (now called a cracker basket) and my experimentation with handles on that form. A little slow, but I have finally gotten around to taking pictures of those six pots.  Here they are.

As I wrote then, I was sitting with the pots to determine which handle I liked the best.  In the green state, it was definitely crimped. But now that they are all fired and glazed, my opinion is shifting.

Tiny Loop - Salt/Soda-glazed

 

 

 

Tiny loop holds tremendous appeal. My finger tuck underneath the handle easily.  And then there are the colors that are so appealing.

 

Crimped - Wood-fired

Flattened - Salt/Soda-Glazed

Droppy - Wood-fired

Standing At Attention - Salt/soda-glazed

Crimped is not holding as much appeal as it did in the green state, although I do love the distribution of ash on the rim.

 

One other observation I have on these forms is that a constrasting color on the interior/rim/handle is very attractive.

 

So what are your thoughts on this motley collection?  Any favorites? If so, why?

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Making Pots. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Study in Handles – the Aftermath

  1. Love the color and easy functionality of “tiny loops” — color combo is pretty and the smaller handles look like they’d work well without danger of them being knock off if the piece is being stored in a cabinet when not in use. Still I think I like “stand at attention” most. as the more dramatic handles still seem effortless. Could see it as a constant on a counter or kitchen table holding fruit or whatever. Storage wouldn’t be an issue because you wouldn’t want to store it away.

Leave a Reply

