Ready but not Prepared


Today was my first day in the studio in a few weeks. I was there to load/unload the student kilns. Even after unloading two kilns and reloading one, I had a ton of energy. I was ready to get dirty. But as I looked at my tools, I realized I wasn’t prepared. I didn’t have a towel or apron. I didn’t have a clue about what I wanted or needed to make. So while ready, I wasn’t prepared.

Usually this is a great time for experimenting.  But my creative juices weren’t running that deep.  I only have 11 weeks until my next firing so I don’t have a lot of time for experimentation.  I need to be focused and have a plan. So this week it is back to the sketch book and inventory sheet to see what I need to be doing.

The weekend wasn’t a complete loss.  I finished the rework of my website.  I posted several new pots on Etsy. And I spent a good portion of Saturday in the kitchen.  Here are some pictures of my cooking and baking endeavors.

Collard greens and garlic

Collard Greens and Quinoa

Tilapia

Walnuts and sesame seeds for the tilapia

Dinner

Persimmon Cookies

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

