A New Spirit of Clay


Italian GreyhoundI’ve been thinking a lot about my blog and what to do with it this year. Honestly, I’ve considered taking a hiatus. Why?

Refocusing and Reorganizing My Life

In 2011, I am focusing my energy on finishing school at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition and fully launching my health coaching practice.  This means I am pulling back from clay a bit to ensure some work/life balance as I reorganize my life.  Yicks – that is even hard to write.

This doesn’t mean I am abandoning clay altogether. It just means fewer pots, fewer firings and fewer workshops than last year.  But I’m so looking forward to learning from Lorna and Simon.

It would be impossible for me to leave clay. As I wrote in the upcoming issue of Studio Potter, clay sustains me.  No matter what is going on in my life, it feels empty if I am not making pots.  Clay connects me to nature – the original grounding force in my life and the greatest source of my artistic inspiration.  So yes, I will still be making (I’ve got two wood-firings already scheduled), but I won’t be hard charging like I was the last couple of years.  Instead, I will be in maintenance mode as I make major shifts in my professional life.

Why the Change?

I have come to realize that no matter how much clay sustains my soul and spirit, it can’t sustain my bank account nor my long-standing passion for health – my own and others. It was hard to get to this place.  It was even harder to admit that in order to make my passions a reality, clay might need to take a back seat in my life this year. The upside is that I remain focused on the ultimate goal – bring more flexibility into my life through eventual self-employment so clay doesn’t have to take a back seat.

Once I made this tough decision, the world seemed right.  But then I realized, “uh oh, what about the blog”?  As you have seen, my posts trailed off at the end of the year.  This was in large part because I wasn’t making, but also because my focus was elsewhere.  While I neglected Spirit of Clay, I also missed it.  I missed sharing my spiritual connection with clay and nature.  What to do?

Wood-burning stove Prepare!

Over the Christmas holiday, while sitting by the wood burning stove, I sketched out a 52-week plan of posts for 2011 – some hard ideas, other’s just simple prompts for me. It doesn’t mean I won’t be spontaneous or that flexibility is not part of the plan.  But as I have seen, without a plan, I can unwittingly neglect the Spirit of Clay. And that is just wrong.

What does this mean for my treasured reader? I am committing to you at least one post a week. This post will appear here (or in your inbox for all you awesome subscribers) on Tuesdays.  This schedule doesn’t prohibit the occasional spontaneous post, but those will be gravy on what I hope is already a pretty tasty dish. As always, I welcome suggestions for improving the discussion we have here.

What about Salty Sundays and Wood-fired Wednesdays you might ask?  They will still continue, but on a monthly basis, or as I trip across work that moves me. Recommendations are strongly encouraged.

So what is that 52 week plan?  I will continue the discussion about how clay sustains and what it teaches (if you have a story to share, contact me because I welcome guest posts). I will introduce some tutorials on some of my favorite techniques. I will also spend more time focusing on how nature inspires me and my pots.  And there will be a  few other goodies in store. Sorry, I have to keep some mystery.

Thank you so much for reading. I look forward to 2011 and this new focus. I hope you do as well.

Snow on Moss

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Journey Toward My Passion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Spirit of Clay

  1. kim says:

    Good luck on your new focus!

Leave a Reply

