Pottery as a Sustaining and Healing Force


View from Points of View
Where was yesterday’s post?  Stuck somewhere in the sand of St. John Virgin Island.  So while, I had the post drafted, I forgot to finish and post it yesterday.  It seems I am still on island time, mon.

But enough of making you jealous and on to the point of today’s post.  As you may know, I have spent a good deal of time in this space investigating how pottery is a spiritual and sustaining force in my life.  I have covered the ways in which clay has taught me to be a more thoughtful and centered person.  As I wrote those posts, I sensed that they were meant for something bigger.  But didn’t know what.

As I finished the 2010 winter/spring issue of Studio Potter magazine, it came to me.  There on the last page was a call for articles with the writing prompt: Sustenance.  Bingo!  Pottery sustains me.  So I set upon reworking my posts and rewriting them into a cohesive piece.

When it came around to submission time I was nervous.  Here I was submitting an article for Studio Potter magazine and I wasn’t a studio potter. Egads. What was I thinking?  The doubts crept in. But remembering that rejection wouldn’t be the worst thing that happened to me, I sent off the article. And so it happened that my article was accepted.  I had the great privilege of working with Mary Barringer to strengthen the piece. It is heartfelt and I hope inspiring. If life gives you mud, make a mug.

Laurie Erdman pottery

Want to read my article and those of such pottery powerhouses as Josh DeWesse and Justin Rothshank?  Go order your copy of The Studio Potter today.  Even better become a member.  If you don’t know anything about the magazine, check it out. In my humble, non-studio potter opinion, this is the best ceramics magazine going.  It is heady. It is at times technical.  But the mingling of voices and perspectives on a single subject is always rich and engaging.  It taint cheap, but I have found it so much more fulfilling then flipping through the pages of other ceramics magazines which always leave me wanting.

Remember, make pots not war,

Laurie

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Pottery as Spiritual Practice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pottery as a Sustaining and Healing Force

  1. carter says:

    Congratulations! I will look forward to reading it!

  2. Jacqueline Thompson says:

    Hi Laurie,

    Super Congrats on getting your article accepted with Studio Potter. I’ve been wanting to order Studio Potter for awhile and I would love to read your article, plus the others. I too feel clay has entered my life as a transformative powerful medium that makes the difference.

    Jackie

  3. Lori Buff says:

    Congratulations. I’m excited about reading the article and what you have to say. I just finished reading “The Soulwork of Clay” so this topic has been front of mind for a little while.

  4. Connie says:

    Congrats!! I’m going to read your article tonight!!! That’s awesome. It came a couple of days ago, but I’ve been supper busy, so I haven’t looked at it yet. But now I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

