A Dandy Good Time


Dandy Blend

I have been raking my brain for something to write about.  Since, it’s been a while since I have been in the studio, I was coming up empty for something to share with you this Tuesday.

My writer’s block was exacerbated by the fact that I spent 4 days at “Food as Medicine”, a wonderful class about the healing power of food. It was by far the best class/conference I have been to.  However, since I am not used to sitting in air conditioning all day, or even sitting all day, I am exhausted.  And there was so much information delivered that I am still trying to absorb it all.  Suffice to say, I am one tired puppy.

So I went downstairs, looking for a pick me up.  Since I gave up coffee a few years ago, pouring myself an aromatic brew wasn’t an option.  But I have recently discovered a delicious alternative.  It’s called Dandy Blend. It’s a mixture or chicory, dandelion root, and roasted barley.  While a recent taste test with a friend of mine confirms that it’s not quite a perfect substitute, it was deemed a good substitute. A good way to help you break your coffee/caffeine habit.

Because of the dandelion root, it helps keep your detox pathways working properly.  And yes, that is a very good thing, especially for those of that do come in contact with heavy metals.

I like to drink mine strong, mixed with almond milk and a touch of stevia or agave.  Here is my special brew in a Matt Hyleck tea bowl.  Because Dandy Blend should be enjoyed in the beauty of a handmade cup.

Inspiration finds itself in the most mundane of tasks.

What do you use as a pick me up? I invite you to share your ideas below.

About Claytastic

Health coach. Writer. Teacher. Artist. Living an amazing life with MS. Interested in bringing peace and beauty into people's lives.
This entry was posted in Artistic Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Dandy Good Time

  1. yogikate says:

    I love Dandy Blend! You are right though…not quite like the real thing. When I have the Dandy, it has to be strong. My go to is tea…green tea. Love it!

  2. Lori Buff says:

    It sounds like a drink called Postem that my mom used to give to us on cold days. It seems much healthier for you than coffee, I’ll have to try it. Thanks

  3. Jacqueline Thompson says:

    Hi Laurie,

    This sounds interesting….I’m going to try it.

    Jackie 🙂

  4. Cathe says:

    Just happened on your blog….I’m hooked!

Leave a Reply

